TN travel E-pass: All you need to know about travelling in the state

TN travel E-pass: All you need to know about travelling in the state

The E-pass can be obtained from the TN ePass website.

Three districts in Tamil Nadu including Chennai, Theni and Madurai are under complete lockdown as of Wednesday to contain the spread of coronavirus infection. Parts of Chengalpattu, Tiruvallur and Kancheepuram districts are also under complete lockdown since the cases are increasing on a regular basis. For people travelling within the three districts and parts of Chengalpattu, Tiruvallur and Kancheepuram, the use of ePass has been made mandatory.

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami on Wednesday further announced that inter-district transportation in other parts of Tamil Nadu will also stand suspended and the movement of people within the zones will not be permitted till June 30. The state was earlier divided into 8 zones allowing the passengers to travel to all the districts mentioned within the zone without an E-pass. However, now people in other districts can ply without an E-pass only within the district and they should obtain an E-pass for travelling to other districts.

Travel rules for Chennai and neighbouring districts

In the three districts under the blanket ban, only travel for medical emergencies and essential services are allowed. The people travelling for marriages and deaths should apply and receive the ePass before commencing on their journey. According to the TNePass website, individuals can apply for ePass for marriage, medical emergency, death of a close relative and if stranded.

>Purchasing essentials: The Tamil Nadu police told the public in Chennai to refrain from using vehicles for purchasing essentials like groceries. The police said that the people should walk and purchase essentials from shops within two kilometers of where

Real More »


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here