Supreme Court to hear 6 BSP MLAs’ transfer plea today

Supreme Court to hear 6 BSP MLAs’ transfer plea today

The Supreme Court on Tuesday will hear a petition by six former legislators of theBahujan Samaj Party(BSP) in Rajasthan demanding the transfer of a petition seeking their disqualification from the Rajasthan high court to the apex court.

The six members of the legislative assembly (MLAs) had merged with the Congress in 2019 for which they faced disqualification petitions filed by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislator Madan Dilawar. Rajasthan assembly speaker CP Joshi rejected the disqualification pleas on July 29.

This prompted Dilawar to approach the Rajasthan high court, which issued notice to Joshi on July 30 but refused to stay the speaker’s directive.

In a related development, the Congress party approached the high court to be added as a party to the proceedings there. This matter is also listed on Tuesday when the HC could decide the fate of the six BSP MLAs — Sandeep Yadav (Tijara), Wajib Ali (Nagar), Deepchand Kheria (Kishangarh Bas), Lakhan Singh Meena (Karauli) and Rajendra Gudha (Udaipurwati) ahead of a crucial special assembly session called by chief minister Ashok Gehlot beginning August 14.

While the proceedings remain pending in the high court, Dilawar filed an appeal in the Supreme Court to stay the speaker’s July 29 order. A stay could be crucial in the event chief minister Ashok Gehlot, who has faced a rebellion by former deputy chief minister Sachin Pilot and 18 other MLAs of his party, faces a trust vote in the House.

Senior advocate Harish Salve appeared for Dilawar before an apex bench of justices Arun Mishra, BR Gavai and Krishna Murari. He said the issue in focus is whether the six MLAs could merge their political party with the Congress when their original political party, BSP, headed by Mayawati ,has refused to sanction the merger. The merger took place on Sep

Real More »